Municipal Responses to Climate Change in South Africa: The case of eThekwini, the City of Cape Town, and the City of Johannesburg

“This study assesses the extent of progress made in institutionalising climate change policy responses within three metropolitan municipalities in South Africa – Cape Town, eThekwini (Durban) and Johannesburg. By focusing on the progress in some of South Africa’s largest metropolitan areas on the issue of climate change policy development and implementation, the study serves to highlight South Africa’s readiness and capacity at local government level
to deal with climate change and related environmental problems.”