Regional integration in Southern Africa: The SACU states

The second in the series of papers on regional integration in Southern Africa deals with those states which, along with South Africa, have reached a high level of integration and interdependence in the region. These states, consisting of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) member states, are commonly referred to as the BLNS – Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia and
Swaziland. This paper will examine their
economies and highlight the importance of the
establishment of a new regional trade regime for the achievement of natural developmental
objectives. The BLNS countries realise that
prosperity in the region can only be achieved by planning a common course for economic development. Specifically this paper will contrast their economic and developmental positions, showing how this affects their regional demands and will conclude by assessing the prospects for
success along the SACU-route.”